103: Culture, Brand And The Secrets To Scaling With Mark Campbell

Listen elsewhere...

In the latest episode of Climb in Consulting, Nick talks to senior consulting leader and business advisor Mark Campbell.

Over the course of his career Mark has ticked pretty much every consulting box. Becoming a Partner at KPMG, leading the boutique consulting firm, Hedra, through their growth journey and navigating the complex world of M&A to achieve a successful sale of the firm to Mouchel. If that wasn’t enough he’s also held senior leadership roles at industry stalwarts Hitatchi consulting and RGP, and since 2019 has moved into a portfolio career, working with a range of consulting firms as a board member and advisor.

With so much experience, and his unique perspective having held leadership roles across a range of different sized firms, he seemed like the ideal guest for the show and we’re so pleased he said yes.

In this conversation Mark and Nick discuss a range of topics that have been critical to Mark’s career success, and talk about how you can apply them to your own career or business to help you achieve your goals, including:

  • Why Mark decide to leave his role as a Partner at the global player KPMG to join the leadership team of boutique firm, Hedra, and the importance happiness played in his decision making.
  • Why culture is critical to any consultancy’s success and what you need to think about to ensure that the values on the wall of your office match the behaviours your team live day to day.
  • And the importance of brand when working for a boutique consultancy, and how being small can actually be an advantage when competing against the bigger players.

Whether you’re just starting out, have recently made partner or you’re leading your firm. Mark’s advice is going to help you accelerate what you’re doing and avoid the pitfalls that you can only see with hindsight.

It’s a brilliant conversation, which we’re sure you’ll find really useful. So enjoy the show!

Get in touch with Mark at: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mark-campbell-61b7462b/

Find out more about Wondrous at: https://www.wondrouspeople.com/

And check out Winfo Solutions at: https://winfosolutions.com/

Specific things discussed in the show:

Matthew Walker – Why We Sleep https://www.waterstones.com/book/why-we-sleep/matthew-walker/9780141983769

Spencer Johnson – Who Moved My Cheese https://www.waterstones.com/book/who-moved-my-cheese/dr-spencer-johnson/9780091816971

Thinking, Fast and Slow – Daniel Kahneman https://www.waterstones.com/book/thinking-fast-and-slow/daniel-kahneman/9780141033570

Beginners: The Joy And Transformative Power Of Lifelong Learning – Tom Vanderbilt https://www.waterstones.com/book/beginners/tom-vanderbilt/9781786493118

The Score Takes Care of Itself – Bill Walsh https://www.waterstones.com/book/score-takes-care-of-itself/bill-walsh/steve-jamison/9781591843474

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

More you might like...

Want to talk Digital Marketing?

Send us a message

imageedit_6_5464377937

get in touch

Let us help you with your digital marketing

Right now you need a new approach.

 

A different approach.

 

One that will help you win business.

 

Read our eBook to find out how!

Get your copy NOW